Introduction

To anyone reading my blog,

My name is Riley Gorski and I created this blog for my art class through the University of Alaska Fairbanks. I am 20 years old, married, and I have two beautiful fur babies! I am double majoring in Secondary Education and Earth Science here at UAF. I have a concentration in Earth System’s Sciences as well. This is my junior year, and in a sense I have worked backwards. This is a freshman course, but as a freshman I was taking classes for the medical field instead. I thought I wanted to be a nurse or a radiologist, however in my second year at UAF I changed my major. I am very passionate about science of all types, but even more passionate about become an educator. The best things in my life are my husband and my pets.pets

My relationship with art is  unlike the relationship most people have with Art. I do not enjoy drawing, sculpting, playing an instrument, or anything of that sort. I really enjoy the art of scrap booking and home decor. Taking older beaten up items and painting them, sanding them and turning them into a beautiful piece of art is something so intriguing to me. Decorating is something I have recently become really interested in. A friend of mine has gotten me hung up on rustic looks and distressed looks for home decor. I think anything as far as decorating for the holidays or even painting my walls a certain shade is a beautiful art form. For an insight on my taste of home decor, check out this link:

Farmhouse Home Decor Ideas

This is the first of many posts I will be making regarding my art class at UAF.

Thank you for reading 🙂

Riley

 

10 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. rifmanblog

    Hi Riley, Repurposed items make some of the best art! My wife and I enjoy finding items in thrift stores, flea markets, yard sales and antique shops that can be refurbished and utilized again. Some of the pieces are just for the aesthetic enjoyment. Pinterest can really be your friend for sparking new ideas! – Rick

    Like

  2. jkoernerblog

    Hello!
    Seems like we have a few things in common. I also have two little fur babies named April and June. I also do not like drawing or scultping since I am absolutely awful at it. I hope you’re semester goes well!

    Like

  3. memnoch210

    I can actually relate to you on some levels. I am a horror with a paintbrush and sculpting but give me an hour on Paint and I can get you a masterpiece. We all have relationships with art one way or another it may not be the most conventional ones but it brings out creativity that rivals those of well proclaimed artists.

    Like

  4. trhytry

    Hi Riley,
    I see you are taking the same class as me. I like the picture of your cat and dog, by brother has a cat the looks almost Identical to yours. Nice to meet you and good luck in this class.

    Like

Leave a comment